Daily Archives: October 23, 2013

Project 365, #287-293: A Week of Bookshelves.

Today you get special extra-long themed post! (since I’m over a week behind…)

One of the first things I ever do upon entering someone’s home for the first time — or watching a YouTube video from someone’s room — is to look at their bookshelves. It’s like a magnetic attraction for me; I can’t help myself!

(Same goes to playing with their pets, but that’s another story…)

I feel like you can tell certain things about a person from what books they have. You get an impression of their interests and personality, what influences they might have, what shared interests, and so on. They have all the works of your favorite author? Yay, potential BFF! All the works of your most hated author? Scornful raised eyebrow.

In case any of my readers also enjoy perusing strange bookshelves, I though I’d give you a peek at the ones here at home.

Mind you, these are mostly my Mum’s books, not mine… That said, many of these books are ones I grew up with and therefore I have nostalgic memories attached to them. I’ll share a bit of that with the photos:

 

IMG_4870

The stack facing the camera are, in fact, the only books here that are mine. However, I have not actually fully read most of them… Many are ones I brought to Hawaii when I moved back, in the hopes that I would finally get around to them. This obviously did not go as planned… There are also some that I have bought/been given since moving here.

 

IMG_4872

Mostly Harmless, of course, was part of my everything-Douglas-Adams reading.

And I’ve read basically everything Neil Gaiman I can get my hands on, American Gods being no exception and also being one I’ve used to convert people into his fanbase.You’ll notice, I’m sure, more of his books in other photos.

Eaters of the Dead, which they loosely based the movie “13 Warriors” on, was excellent. I’ve read most of Michael Crichton’s books, too, and this was one of the better ones.

The Monkey Wrench Gang by Edward Abbey is the particularly battered-looking spine near the middle-left. It’s a family classic, and when my sister had her husband read it for the first time, his reaction was “that explains a lot about your family” and also “you were allowed to read that as a young teen?!?!?!”, which, really, also explains a lot about our family.

Oh, and of course Shakespeare Wit and Wisdom got flipped through and read aloud a lot in our family, and critiqued for not including this or that quote.

 

IMG_4873

A bookshelf of classics, at least to me and Mum.

Mary Stewart, Parke Godwin, Dorthy Gilman, Mutant Message Down Under, Stranger in a Strange LandNationFire, Storm, The Hundredth Monkey… All excellent literature, and many are ones that Mum would quietly point out to me when I reached a certain age and mention I should read this one some time…knowing that I would instantly fall in love with it the moment I did. Some of these also took a turn as family read-alouds.

 

IMG_4874

A peek at some of the spiritual and philosophical influences over the years… We are an eclectic family, to say the least! But there is a harmony to it all, too; a certain pervading attitude infusing theme into individual works.

 

IMG_4876

Books of my childhood!

The Phantom Tollbooth is especially beloved in my family, and one that I’ll still re-read.

Wise Child, and the not-pictured prequel Juniper, are absolute favorites of mine and my Mum’s.

Master Skylark, A Walk in Wolf Woods, Johnny Tremain, The Root Cellar, and many of the others were all read-alouds — and many of them counted as history lessons, too.

Lloyd Alexander was a favorite author of us kids growing up.

All these books, even if I hadn’t read them, have been around most-if-not-all of my life, and they give me a warm nostalgic magical feeling of being a child looking through the family bookcases, wanting to read every book I saw.

 

IMG_4877

Books of wander-lust, mostly. I inherited mine from Mum, whose homesteading life kept her tied down to a piece of land. But we live vicariously through books, so memoirs of travel were, and are, essential reading.

 

IMG_4878

Last picture!

Some of my favorite non-fictions as a teenager are pictured here: Understanding Comics is a classic with more than just my family for a reason, and definitely fed my comic obsession; Alice in Quantumland was a perfect pairing since I was also obsessed with both the Alice books and quantum physics at the same time (before I read it, actually); and Talk to the Hand is both hilariously clever and quite informative.

That’s it for the tour! I hope you enjoyed it!

And now that I’m only a couple days behind on posts, I’ll get back to one-photo-per-update again.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Project 365